We our a full service moving company serving the entire state of Florida.Our goal in business is to make moving as easy as possible. Our fully trained staff is ready at a moments notice to safely complete your move.We come in with all the proper supplies to pack,move,then clean your home so that your ready to sell or just get your deposit back. This is a great service for seniors and busy people that just dont have the time. Our skilled team members all have at least 4yrs moving experience in there respected field. They are clean cut,background checked,D/F men that are always going the extra mile to insure the best service possible.Call today for a free inhome estimate were will go over step by step how we will make this the best moving experience possible.
Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate

Reviews

Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

WK
William K.

07/13/2017

Provided by YP.com

Really bad experience hiring a "professional moving company"!.

The key word there is professional, which this company is NOT.

I started this process by renting a U-Haul and as part of the online checkout procedure I selected a company to assist with the move. I regretfully selected BigCity Moving.

I called 3 times prior to the move, no answer. I called the day before, no answer.
I was calling to confirm and to see if I needed to get a hand truck/dolly, etc

He texted many hours later and was told that the move was confirmed.

They are to arrive by 9AM. I brought all boxes outside while waiting.
Finally I get someone on the phone at 10:30, and was told they will arrive "soon".
Soon was another hour, they arrived just after 11:30.

Before they started I brought them over to my large, heavy and valuable dining room table. Heaviest piece I own.

They understood. But fast forward and it was greatly damaged.

They brought no equipment with them, Nothing! They got dropped off and asked to drive the uhaul over to the unload spot. I said sure.

Fast forward. One guy in the truck backing it into the driveway, the other guy not paying much attention in the driveway. The driver ran over my neighbors mailbox. One of them says to me "you got lucky" as he gingerly placed the mailbox back on a shattered wooden post. Lucky?

I prepaid for 3 hours. They went just over which included a 20 minute break they BOTH took after they dropped the table which hit one of the guy's foot.
After the move the owner sent me a bill for another hour.

Neither worker informed the owner that they damaged my table as well as destroyed the neighbors mailbox.

I spoke to the owner one time since when I informed him of these concerns. He text me that he would take care of the mailbox. Then has never responded to me since. Very disappointing and I will never ever recommend this company to anyone.

T
tara218

08/05/2013

Provided by YP.com

When I first called to get my quote, we settled on the date, but I was never given a time or an actual contract. I was told I would be called the night before to verify everything. No one called, so at 4:45 I called them. I said we were hoping for around 9-10am. I was told that wouldn’t be a problem. They showed up at 1pm. I was quoted on the phone a 3-4 hour loading time, after listing to them EVERYTHING in my house. It took 6 hours, and that was with my husband and I helping. I was also told a 26ft truck was no problem, but still ended up having to rent a uhaul to go pick up the rest of the stuff. Apparently this company should not do quotes over the phone. I've heard this isn't the first time it's happened.

Same on the unloading side. The owner confirmed at 12:45pm the day of unloading that he was going to have 2 crews meet up to unload my truck in less than 2 hours and they would be there between 2 and 2:30. They showed up at 6pm, with no call to let me know they weren’t going to be there between 2 and 2:30. The second crew never showed up. My mom, sister, husband, friend and myself were all unloading boxes from the truck by the 3rd hour so they could finish and leave.

I had scratches on my wooden furniture, dents in my (brand new house) walls and doors. When I complained about my bad experience on the loading side (on MY facebook page), the owner said he would have to have a certified check because of it, like i wasn't going to pay my bill. VERY insulting considering i never insinuated I wouldn't pay and just stated it was a horrible experience. Then he told his guys to get the check as soon as they arrived, BEFORE the unloaded our stuff. I don't think so! 1st rule of SERVICE industry, you FINISH a job before you get paid.

They had to leave our desk in the garage because they were too tired to move it. They did admit it would normally be a quick 15 minute job, but as it was their 3rd move of the day and 9:30 at night, they just couldn't do it. Understandable and I had no problem with that. However the owner said it would require a special team and additional charge. Crazy, considering my little brother and dad will be handling it this weekend and they were the ones that put it upstairs in my first house.

I did make sure to provide all the cold water bottles and cold towels that the guys wanted. I also bought them dinner the 1st night and tipped all of them both nights. I would hire the guys directly, but will never go through Big Guy Moving again. Your stuff will get moved, but it may be damaged, and it will happen on their time schedule, not yours.

claimed iconBusiness Response08/09/2013

Miss Tara it is very sad to see this review up here after all that we did to help you out. We had Tara on the schedule for 8am for her move to be completed, well she calls us the day before to say that see needs us to hold her furniture overnight due to the closing falling through. I advised her three times that we can not load her truck in the morning and hold it all day until the following afternoon to unload into the new home. I told her we would be there between 1and2pm to load and would hold the truck over night but doing so I need to make sure that we wrap everything up. Well it took 6 hours to disassemble, blanket and wrap the furniture and try to fit a full 3 bedroom house into a 26ft boxtruck. It did not all fit and advised her that to keep another boxtruck off the road for another day would not be able to happen. So instead of charging a big fee, I told her to rent a Uhaul and we would load and unload. Well she didn't get the truck and at the end of the day she stated to get mad at us cause the Uhaul location was closed. She was so happy the whole day with the way the guys worked for her, but when she saw that it wasn't going to fit she then changed up.Yes my guys weren't comfortable lifting your 400lbs desk of a spiral stair case with out the right pully system, but I only charged this young lady $625 dollars for 9hours of work and holding a truck up for 32hours. She did not want to pay this price but half, and I had to get a certified check to make sure that we were covered. We have completed two moves for this young lady and we really went out of our way to make sure she was happy. We always do!!

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
E
eric.turner

08/15/2013

Provided by YP.com

!!!! STAY AWAY !!!!!
I was going to use this company for my move to Jacksonville,FL from Saint Joseph, MO. I sent in for the online quote and after I did the "OWNER" Dave Mendenhall called me directly and told me that he has a great deal for me.Gave me a story about some haul he has to do out to Utah and that he could pick me up on the way back. He quoted me a price and I agreed to it. He sent me a contract I signed it and sent it back to him. I sent him an email five days before the move just to make sure everything was still on track. He replied saying that everything is still set as planned and that he was going to take good care of me. Well the Friday night before the move I called him to ask him what time would he be there at the house that saturday to pick up my stuff. He answered and said let me put the info in my GPS and I will call you RIGHT back. One hour passed and he never called. I called him and no answer. I called ten times after that and still no answer. One of the last time i called that night, he turned his phone off. I also called once the next morning and he answered and then hung up. the day of my scheduled move I had to scramble to find a truck & trailer. I ended up spending a lot more then quoted for the move and lost two days of work because of it. if you read this do not use this company. They are hacks!!!! The owner has very poor management skills if any.I am now done with my move and have retained a lawyer. If you need one too because of this company, please contact me because I can refer you to one. After I am done my move will have cost me nothing!!!!!

claimed iconBusiness Response08/21/2013

Eric as I explained over the phone, our truck broke down in Colorado and I was not able to drive back to Jacksonville for 4days because of repairs. I gave you as much of a notice as I could. I told you I would pay a very generous amount of your overall expenses. We are just not able to give you $3700.00, so that your move is free. After the conversation that we had, I thought we had resolved this. I am so sorry that we were not able to complete your move, and put you in the predicament that we did. I really hope we can work this out Eric, we really did do all we could to make this better.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
AM
Angelina M.

05/11/2017

Provided by YP.com

Zero stars. We had a simple move of a oven , cooktop,fridge and microwave from Jax to Orange Park. First they went to the drop off location instead of the pick up location putting them two hours behind. Next they do not padtge appliances or strap them on the dolly. Surprise when he took my oven down the ramp on the dolly it just came tumbling off. Since that point, I have not had a call back to my multiple calls and often their vm is full. They did not fix or replace the stove. They just disappeared. It wasn't until I spoke to another moving company that I found out that as consumers we should report these thieves to the deapartment of agitivukture and transportation. Essentially that will cause them fines and could shut them down completely. I recommend that everyone who has had a complaint with this company call or write the Department of transportation and complain. Also the better business bureau. Pass the word on. It's time that this business be put out of business.

Review Image
AB
Ann B.

05/06/2015

Provided by YP.com

I had a good experience with this company. We moved the contents of 3 bedroom apartment to another 3 bedroom apartment. The guys were prompt, courteous and friendly. We were 50+ year old ladies who had no hope of moving heavy furniture and washing machines. We under prepared so what was left over was our fault. They got as much as they could into the truck and we got the rest into our cars. I would use this company again and hopefully I would be better prepared. (I had lots of little things not packed or at least not put inside other bigger things.

SM
Sandy M.

07/08/2014

Provided by YP.com

Do not hire this company for a whole-house move. They are not equipped for it. They do not own their own trucks and try to get by with less people than promised. They did not show up for first estimate appointment. The owner came the next night, looked around, heard my requirements, and should have told me right then and there his company could not handle my move. They were using one rented u-haul truck for other moves and stalling mine. In the end, they left the king-size mattress, box springs, broken futon frame and boxes with used wrapping paper in my front yard of my old home, which I didn't find until an hour or so after they left the new home. I still have furniture in my old home they did not move. I have had to hire somebody else to come back and move the rest of my things. Horrible experience! Probably fine for an apartment move. They deserve less than one star from me.

DS
Danny S.

02/21/2014

Provided by YP.com

I have used Big Guy Movers several times. L.J. and Brandon were fast, efficient and very careful. These are honest movers and good prices. I would highly recommend this company.

R
russ.hatcher

12/18/2013

Provided by YPmobile
Repeat customer

This is the second time using Big Guy Moving and I'm satisfied once again. Both Brandon and Greg were respectful to me and my things, showed up on time, and finished within the allotted time. I'll will use them again and recommend them to others.

M
mary.kiraly

08/21/2013

Provided by YP.com

I recently used Big Guy moving to move from Orange Park to Downtown and they were super fast and super efficient. Definitely helped make the move 10000x easier!! They were extremely friendly and I was totally satisfied with their service.



Will definitely use them again and would recommend them to any one getting ready to move!!!

D
dang.reed.9

06/28/2013

Provided by YP.com

I don't normally write reviews but It's rare to find a moving company that's reliable, affordable, and hires good, professional movers. I've moved several times and no company has provided me with a quality moving service like Big Guy Moving. The movers work quickly and safe and they treated my furniture and precious belongings like they were their own. They showed up on time, were friendly and strong. The owner David called me after my move to make sure I was satisfied. Not much more you can ask for. Thanks.

NB
Nikki B.

06/18/2013

Provided by YPmobile
Fast, professional, and on time

I scheduled a move with the business. It was a difficult move since they had to go up and down three flights of stairs and deliver the furniture to two locations. They showed up on time and were very quick! They were done in no time! The price was great and I have already recommended them to others.

P
paul.hope

02/01/2013

Provided by YP.com

Stay Away!!! Sometimes cheaper is NOT a good option! I made a reservation with this company to move me from my house in Jax to another house in Atlanta since I was being relocated for my job. I was quoted at $1200 to which I agreed since my other quotes were in the range of $1500+. I read the reviews here and thought that the company seemed quite reputable. Everything started off great. I spoke with Dave and he seemed professional and we scheduled the loading for a Thursday evening at 5 pm so that they could hit the road early Friday morning. At 4pm on Thursday, Dave called and said that they're getting the truck ready and will be enroute in 30 minutes. At 5pm, I got a text message from Dave stating that they're having issues with the truck and he'll call me back in 10 minutes with an update of some sort. I never got a call back or a text message from him. I tried calling him back up until 8:30 pm and they kept ignoring my calls. I left a nice voicemail stating how unprofessional this was. Long story short - they breached the contract and made no attemps to remedy the situation. I then had to make a reservation with another company who, of course, jacked up the price to $2100 given the urgency of the move! I'm never one to write reviews, but this certainly has been a horrific experience and I want all consumers to be very wary of this company!

claimed iconBusiness Response05/15/2013

Mr Hope this review is not accurate at all. We spoke on the night of the load and I advised you that the truck was having difficulty with the lift and we would need to rent a truck and load it the following day. Well Paul got very angry and began yelling and screaming that he has to leave tonight to get their in the morning, I advised I would give him a $200 discount for the inconvienance. Well he told me he would find someone else and then said a few choice words and hung up. This was our mistake and we were willing to take a loss just to make sure Paul was taken care of, We at Big guy moving strive to provide our customers with the best customer service possible.

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
J
jim.whitney.353

12/04/2012

Provided by YP.com
Would be 5 stars but there was...

Would be 5 stars but there was a slight mix up on what time they were supposed to show up. Showed up an hour late but was because the workers were taking a lunch. But once they showed up the gentlemen were curtious and hard working. I was quoted $200 for two hours and $75 each additional hour. They were done exactly in two hours and was not charged any additional fees. I was moving from a single floor house to a third floor condo but the extra starsdid not slow them down. I HIGHLY recommend this company and you MUST request Bobby and Jayson to do the move, you will be extremly happy at the end of the day!!!!!

J
jim.whitney.353

12/04/2012

Provided by YP.com

F
francemiddleton

11/01/2012

Provided by YP.com
I can not say enough about the...

I can not say enough about the service I received from the Big guys. The guys worked extremely hard and did not damage any of my furniture. They earned their pay that day. I will use you guys again,and have already referred my boss to you. Thanks so much. :) :) :)

L
lynn.tench.37

10/09/2012

Provided by YP.com
These guys are the best. They ...

These guys are the best. They packed all my stuff in a 26ft box truck on Wednesday, Oct 3, drove to Simpsonville,SC and met me at my new house and unloaded all in one day. I don't plan to ever move again, but if I did I would never use anyone but Big Guy. Tanks so much

T
ticklepinkandblue

10/03/2012

Provided by YP.com
You have to use these guys for...

You have to use these guys for your move. They helped me with my move to Oregan,and made a very stressful event,a breeze. I will use them again for my mothers move,and would recommend them to anyone looking/

K
kgreene

09/04/2012

Provided by YP.com
Please run do not use this com...

Please run do not use this company. This was a horrible situation after being referred by my mother in law. I called to get a quote on moving a pool table after being given a reasonable quote. We scheduled the move for Sat after waiting well past the time that was given to me I received a text that said one guy had hurt his self and I would have to be rescheduled. Sun at 4 was the new time no called no showed wouldn't return my call would not answer text. I have been calling for 3 days Gave this company ample amount of time to make this situation better. Please run do not use this company..

T
thesqueakywheel

08/29/2012

Provided by YP.com
We hired Big Guy Moving for 2 ...

We hired Big Guy Moving for 2 hours to help my husband move my daughter within the city. My one complaint is that when I originally tried to contact them to set up an appointment (since we'd purchased the two hours through a Groupon offer) it took forever for them to call me back. I called and got a recorded message twice over two weeks and finally I found an e-mail address for them and wrote them. I did get a call at that point. Later, I wanted to verify everything because the appointment was made two months in advance and I had a similar situation. This all made me a little nervous BUT:



The experience was totally positive. The two movers were there promptly at 8 and in such great shape that moving furniture to a third floor apartment was not a problem at all. They were polite and friendly, efficient and accomodating. They didn't just pile things in the door but wanted to place it correctly. They were done early! Thank goodness we hired them. What could have been a real headache is just another check in the box of our "To Do" list. My daughter took their business card and are going to post it at her work.



We'd recommend them to anyone just be patient when you call them initially (which I'm not!)

B
bigbaddeer

08/27/2012

Provided by YP.com
Philippa Jeffreys Our experie...

Philippa Jeffreys

Our experience with Big Guy Movers was absolutely great! They were polite, respectful of our home, and demonstrated professionalism from start to finish. The men worked quickly and efficiently, handled our belongings carefully, and placed everything just where we needed it. We are 100% satisfied and highly recommend their service

More Business Info

"We take the stress out of moving."

Hours
Regular Hours
Mon - Fri:
Sat - Sun:
Payment method
carte blanche, cash, check
Location
Proudly serving the state of Florida.
Category
Movers